A Weekend Post

Because being a regular blogger is too mainstream? Absolutely not. Because I have been a little preoccupied and more so, very lazy? Oh yes!

Diwali was fun. Lights and laughter, new outfits and jewelry, and above all, good food! We can all hope for a lovely year ahead. (How many new years do we have in a year? Is Diwali even considered as beginning of a year? Meh!)

College commenced mid way this week. My highlight of the entire week occurred on two consecutive days; Wednesday and Thursday. 

On Wednesday evening, my friend and I decided to go drink one of our favorite, most refreshing drinks we get around this place; Bonda Juice (Sugar in tender coconut water with bits of coconut cream, chilled.) We have to walk quite some distance from where we stay for that, and we do not mind that. We walked all the way, on the way saw a couple of drunk men fighting like mad cattle, drank our juice and were on our way back. We were near Nameless (A name we gave to a small hotel, attached to a house, which doesn’t really have a name. If you happen to visit Nitte, it is right opposite to 7 Bees. The Puri-bhaji and Pulav will not disappoint you. Some refer to it as ‘Mane oota’ (Home made food) and some others by the name of it’s owner; Harish Anna’s). So yes. As we were walking, we could hear a faint voice, “Akka! Hi!”. We had no plans of going to Nameless that day. I noticed that the super cute girl we often see in the house when we go there to eat, was standing by the door. We have been seeing her from about 2 years now, she might be 3 years old now. Believe me, she is absolutely adorable! “Hi!”, I waved back.

” Heg iddiya?” (How are you?), I inquired.  She flashed a smile but said nothing. She noticed that we were walking past her and that we wouldn’t be eating at her place today.

Immediately, she said, “Akka, naale baani!” (Akka, do come tomorrow.) .

“Aaythu. Neenu naale irthiya alva?” (Okay. You’ll be here tomorrow right?), I asked.

“Haudu.” (Yes.), she said.

“Aaythu, naale barthene. Bye!” (Okay, I will come tomorrow.)

“Bye!”, she said.

It felt nice to talk to her. Specially so because she had initiated the conversation. Not many  3 year old kids would be doing that, would they?

 

The next day, Thursday, I was determined to go have something at Nameless. Alas! It was thundering like there were a heavy metal concert going on up in the sky. But hey, I had to go, I had said the kid that I would. About 6 o clock, the thunder was receding and I dragged my friends along with me. We entered the little hotel and we could see the little girl dressed in orange jumping like a rubber ball.

She ran in and we could hear her, “Maama! Maama! Maama! Akka bantu!” (Uncle! Uncle! Uncle! Akka has come!). That was  c u t e ! 😀 🙂

“Hi!”, my friends and I waved in sync to her. She smiled for a fraction of a second and ran inside again. We placed our order and sat waiting for it. She didn’t come to us at all. Oh she way busy!

“Maama phone!” , she could come with a ringing cell phone and handed it to her uncle.

“Akka mooru chapati” (Akka, 3 chapatis), she would carry her uncle’s instructions from the kitchen to the room where her elder sister, cousin perhaps, was rolling the chapatis.

I had my coffee and egg burji (Not a very conventional combination, but I like that), my friend got her puri-bhaji parcel and it was time for us to leave. The little one was nowhere to be seen. We stood for a minute and she didn’t come out. It was getting dark outside and we decided to leave. Just as we walked a few steps outside the hotel door, we could hear her, “Akka bye!”, she was standing by the door.

“Bye bye!”, we all said. She ran inside again.

 

That was some sweet experience for me. The past few days in college haven’t been very pretty; crappy marks in lab and a seminar followed by questions that had no answers, but this made up for it all!

Image

Till Next Time,

Keep Smiling.

Shivali

3 thoughts on “A Weekend Post

Leave a Reply

