An Afternoon In Annex

A little over an hour back, I sat in the air conditioned library of my college because, frankly, I had no where else to be. Or at least that is what I told myself. While I sat there, I began writing randomly and this is what I ended up with.

 Words Observe 

This is not a poem; this is not a note,

It’s a cluster of words that I scribble with no intentions to promote.

Eighteen tables and thirty six chairs,

People sitting and studying in pairs.

Today isn’t one of those eventful days for me,

I am peacefully free like I have always wanted to be.

A pinch of guilt stings for killing time like this,

But hey, I wouldn’t complain, for me, this is bliss.

Silent whispers and petty gestures,

That defines one of the many library textures.

Hair clips and hair bands, straight hair and curly,

Guys with hair that are in no way girly.

I look around the reading room as I jot this down,

I smile at the librarian and all he does is frown.

The AC switches are on but the room temperature suggests otherwise,

There is no one to answer my what’s and why’s.

Maybe I should stop this mindless babbling right here,

I write this as I wave to my peer.

Don’t judge me because I am killing something this precious,

Time has it’s funny ways, sweet and treacherous.

The turning over of pages and zipping of bags,

The librarian’s constant warnings to students to sport their ID tags.

Perhaps it is time for me to make a move; pack up and leave,

Ah all this rhyming makes me feel so naive.

 

Back I am with my dear buddy, the internet, whom i can’t thank enough for this virtual space.

Image

Have a nice day y’all! 🙂 

8 thoughts on “An Afternoon In Annex

Leave a Reply

