Yet Another

Another semester walks by me. My 7th semester exams ended today and I all I can ask for is decent results. Could you wish for the same for me, please?

People around me are claiming to have mixed feelings. That they’re happy that it’s over but they are going to miss it when it’s over. I had been told similar things by many of my seniors whenever I would tell them that I can’t wait to be done with my engineering. They would tell me that I would realise something around seventh semester that would make me want the eighth semester to last forever. Fortunately, or unfortunately, I haven’t felt of that kind yet. I still can’t wait for be done with my engineering ASAP. I like this place, I like most of the people around and yet I can’t wait to get away from all of it. But old ways never open new doors and maybe that’s where I am going wrong. So could you suggest me new angles to look at it from? Thank you. 🙂

 

I read this beautiful piece a couple of weeks back and haven’t been able to get over it yet,

“What they don’t understand about birthdays and what they never tell you is that when you’re eleven, you’re also ten, and nine, and eight, and seven, and six, and five, and four, and three, and two, and one. And when you wake up on your eleventh birthday you expect to feel eleven, but you don’t. You open your eyes and everything’s just like yesterday, only it’s today. And you don’t feel eleven at all. You feel like you’re still ten. And you are — underneath the year that makes you eleven. 

Like some days you might say something stupid, and that’s the part of you that’s still ten. Or maybe some days you might need to sit on your mama’s lap because you’re scared, and that’s the part of you that’s five. And maybe one day when you’re all grown up maybe you will need to cry like if you’re three, and that’s okay. That’s what I tell Mama when she’s sad and needs to cry. Maybe she’s feeling three. 

Because the way you grow old is kind of like an onion or like the rings inside a tree trunk or like my little wooden dolls that fit one inside the other, each year inside the next one. That’s how being eleven years old is.”

-Sandra Cisneros

So 2013 is coming to an end and I have an endless list to be thankful to. A list that I started making without my own knowledge many many years back. I certainly do not want to bore you with it. All I can say is that learning isn’t half as bad as the sound of it. This world is a beautiful place, I just hope we manage to dust off all the dirt that has accumulated over the years on it. Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is watching and I guess that’s what defines us. 🙂

In other news, I was about to bring out my answer sheet with me during one of my exams. Oh my absent mindedness. I must do something about that. This is just a  note to the self. 

Image

Till Next Time,

Keep Smiling.

Shivali.

Keep Smiling.

3 thoughts on “Yet Another

  1. hey its like that old saying grass on the other side, always looks greener similarly you feel that life after college will be better. Savour each moment of this phase of your life. Loved your intellectual thoughts 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

