Morning Walk. Mental Talk.

Maybe I do not have anything to say. Maybe i have way too much to say and can’t figure out which of it is worthy of being written about. Oh whom am I kidding. I am outright lazy!

My apologies for not having been very regular here. (Not that you have been waiting, but still, i am going to assume so to please myself.)

A couple of days back, a friend of mine and I were walking along the roads of Nitte on our very irregular morning walks. We a;ways make it a point to choose any random direction and move in that direction for about 20 minutes as briskly as we can and then turn about and return. Luckily for us the weather has been just perfect for a morning walk; not very cold, neither hot and hence no feeling all gooey and sticky (Or maybe we aren’t walking quick enough. Whatever may it be.). So yes, we walked in the direction of Belman for about 20 minutes and explored the interiors of Halekatte when we looked at our watches and learnt it was time for us to head back. Trucks loaded with jelly stones were heading towards Belman, making the road dustier than ever and there we were, complaining, being absolutely helpless while bathing in the dust. As we moved ahead, the dust cloud cleared and were able to breathe comfortable again. A few dogs we barking in our direction and my friend began walking quickly to escape from them. I giggled as I always find it funny, to a certain extent stupid when people are afraid of dogs. I asked her to slow down and said that walking quickly would only worsen things for her if the dogs were to do anything. She slowed down. Within a minute or so, a few other dogs began barking at us, louder this time. My friend was petrified and began walking quickly again. Upon asking her to slow down, she held on to me like how a squirrel would cling on to the bark of the tree. It was then that I said her, “Relax, they won’t do anything. they are dogs, not humans.” . At that moment, the intensity of what I had said so casually didn’t strike me. After a few minutes when my friend and I gave it a thought, we did stare at each other with a hundred virtual question marks revolving round our head.

It is ironic how our fellow humans are our best friends and can be our worst enemies too. People do not belong to each other and can be so cruel to each other. Can we just be good to one another? Harm isn’t a pretty word and is a worse gesture.

 

Image

Till Next Time,

Keep Smiling.

Shivali

2 thoughts on “Morning Walk. Mental Talk.

  1. Reminds me of a joke I read somewhere after last year’s nirbhaya incident:
    A girl was out after 10:00 p.m. in delhi and encountered some dogs and got scared of them. The dog came forward and said ‘Madam, chale jaaiye hum kuch nahi karenge… hum kutte hai insaan nahi’

Leave a Reply

