Which Branch Are You In?

I am well past the stage of having to explain to people why I chose the stream of Mechanical Engineering. Out of 10 people who ask me the same question, at least 8 of them would be asking just because they can’t think of anything else to ask and think it is good way to do small talk. As I was typing the previous sentence, I told by self that 8 out to ten can be simplified and expressed as 4 out of  5. This is what engineering has done to me. Well, it’s not a complain. I am very grateful to it rather. Since I have a million things lined up to do and I feel like doing absolutely none of them, I thought I would make a list of questions I have been posed with and that continue to shoot themselves in my directions via so many people on regular basis regarding my choice of stream.

 

Question: Why did you choose Mechanical?

Answer I wish to give: It is a pretty word right; m-e-c-h-a-n-i-c-a-l.  It sounded so fancy, that’s why.

Answer  I give: Well, I have always been interested in production and Mechanical simply adds so much more to it. *sigh*

Question: Aren’t the labs very hard?

Answer I wish to give:  Oh no, they are made out of foam and are super soft.

Answer I give: No, they are alright. Forging lab was challenging, n=but not something one can’t manage. *quick smile*

Question: Why are you wearing your workshop uniform, you have lab?

Answer I wish to give:  No, simply. I like it.

Answer I give: No, simply, I like it. (Yes, I do say that! At least some times.)

Question: Don’t you get bored to sit alone in class?

Answer I wish to give:  Yes yaar. I get soooo bored. *over dramatize*  I miss you soooo much. (If that’s what you are expecting.)

Answer I give: No, I don’t get bored. I am okay with it.  

Question: How are you classmate?

Answer I wish to give:  Well, most are taller than me. Some are short. Some are fair, some are dusky. Some are thin, some are fat. Anything else that you would want to know?

Answer I give: They are fine. Most are very friendly and fun loving.

Question: What do you want to do after engineering?

Answer I wish to give:  Oh I want to become a software engineer. No no, painter. No, I want to become a chef.  Or maybe I will become a golfer. I might as well become a astrologer.  OF COURSE I WANT TO CONTINUE IN MY FIELD!

Answer I give: I want to work in the mechanical stream. *flashes modest smile*

Question: *upon seeing my text books of theory subjects such as MP, IC, Automotive etc* How do you study all this?

Answer I wish to give:  Well, at least I don’t have to by heart codes.

Answer I give: I try my best.

Question:  Do many core companies visit your campus for recruitments?

Answer I wish to give:  No, the company doesn’t have legs to walk and come by themselves. They usually send their technical and HR personnel.

Answer I give: Yes, some do. It isn’t the same count every year though.

Question: How are the subjects in mechanical?

Answer I wish to give:  Very colourful. They feel like a mixture of Holi and Diwali. Sometimes they are full on stories like Ramayana and other times they are only problems like Saas-Bahu serials.

Answer I give: they are alright. Once you understand them, they are not very hard. But understanding may not happen right away.

Question: You must be feeling very different to be a girl in Mech right?

Answer I wish to give: As far as I can see, I don’t think I much different from any girl in any stream.

Answer I give: I am a girl in Mechanical. Girl first, mechanical next. So, No. (This is a fixed answer I have been rehearsing over  the years.)

Well, well, well. I should just stop now. If you’ve read through all of it, paint me surprised. 😀

 Image

Till Next Time,

Keep Smiling.

Shivali

2 thoughts on “Which Branch Are You In?

Leave a Reply

